Napoleon Series Archive 2014

Re: Napoleon Beginner
In Response To: Napoleon Beginner ()

Hi Jason and welcome to the Napoleonic history world. I am a moderate knowledge person with regards to Napoleon. I have been into Napoleon since I was 11 (26 now) so have read hundreds of books on him by this point. However I am certainly not an expert (I have no books written about Napoleon, I am a CPA). There are some things that you will discover as you become deeper involved in Napoleonic history. First, books on Napoleon are like books on Ronald Reagan (my other great interest) in that there is a school of thought that thinks N was overall a good influence (Kevin falls into this) or that he was an egotistical conquerer with no thoughts other than to better himself. There are very few moderates. British authors tend to paint N in the latter (the whole Nelson and Wellington single handedly destroyed the great Napoleon blah blah blah). Charles Esdalie has some good books from that school of thought (he dedicated one book to his kids saying he hopes they never see a Bonaparte in their lifetime).