The Waterloo Association: Members Area

Get Involved:

Facebook Twitter Email
The Napoleon Series > Military Information > Battles and Campaigns

INS News


The 1999 Literary Awards

April 5, 2000

TO: Members of the International Napoleonic Society

FROM: Dr. Ben Weider, President, and Donald D. Horward, Chair of the 1999 Literary Committee

RE: The 1999 Literary Awards

During the year twelve excellent volumes were submitted to the 1999 Literary Committee of the International Napoleonic Society for the annual prize. We are please to announce that, as a result of the evaluations by the Committee, composed of Robert Holtman, David J. Markham, Jeanne Ojala, John Severn, and Donald. D. Horward the following awards have been made:

First Prize of $2,500 is awarded to Elizabeth Sparrow for her volume, Secret Service, British Agents in France 1792-1815, published by Boydell & Brewer Ltd., Windbridge, Suffolk.

Second Prize of $1,500 is awarded to Paddy Griffith, ed. for his volume, A History of the Peninsular War Volume IX published by Greenhill Press of London.

Each of these publications has met the rigorous criteria established by the Literary Committee; they represent a significant contribution to the study of the Napoleonic period as exemplified by the quality of research, originality, style, and analysis. It is a pleasure to congratulate each of these scholars on their commitment and achievement.




INS News Index ]