The Waterloo Association: Members Area

Get Involved:

Facebook Twitter Email
The Napoleon Series > Military Information > Organization, Strategy & Tactics

The Netherlands Reserve Army, 1815

By Geert van Uythoven

On 24 May 1815 it was decided to create a Reserve Army, to reinforce the Netherlands Field Army. On 19 July (after Waterloo!) its strength was fixed at 30 infantry battalions (militia and Swiss battalions), 18 cavalry squadrons and 4 artillery batteries. The Reserve Army came into being only after the battle of Waterloo, and did not participate in any fighting.


Commander: Lieutenant General: Baron Ralph Dundas Tindal
Quartermaster / Adjudant-General: Major General D.L. Vermaesen


1st Infantry Division (Lieutenant General Baron Ralph Dundas Tindal)(HQ Brussel)

1 battery foot artillery
1st Brigade (Major General Jan de Moulin)

Bataljons Nationale Militie No. 22, 23, 24, 25, 26.
2nd Brigade (Major General Josephus Jacobus van Geen)

Bataljons Nationale Militie No. 27, 28, 29, 30, 31.


2nd Infantry Division (Lieutenant General Gijsbert Maarten Cort Heyligers)(HQ Mons)

1 battery foot artillery
3rd Brigade (Major General Adriaan Frederik Meyer)

Bataljons Nationale Militie No. 32, 33, 35, 36, 37.
4th Brigade (Major General George Maurits Busman)

Bataljons Nationale Militie No. 38, 39, 41, 43, 44.

5th (Reserve) Brigade (Colonel Jan Verveer)
Bataljons Nationale Militie No. 21, 34, 40, 42, 45 (still forming).

Distributed among the brigades would be one battalion of each of the four Swiss regiments No. 30, 31, 32 and 33 serving in the Netherlands Army, and in addition the 2nd Bataljon Oranje-Nassau. Each brigade would receive one of the above battalions. This addition happened only on paper.


Cavalry Division (Lieutenant General Baron Carel Joseph Evers)(HQ Brussel)

1 battery horse artillery

Brigade Karabiniers (Colonel de Bruine)

Regiment Karabiniers No. 1 (2 squadrons)

Regiment Karabiniers No. 2 (2 squadrons)

Regiment Karabiniers No. 3 (2 squadrons)

Regiment Karabiniers Nationale Militie (4 squadrons)

Brigade Light Dragoons (Colonel Duvivier)

Regiment Lichte Dragonders No. 4 (2 squadrons)

Regiment Lichte Dragonders No. 5 (2 squadrons)

Regiment Huzaren No. 6 (1 squadron)

Regiment Oost-Indische Huzaren No. 7 (2 squadrons)

Regiment Huzaren No. 8 (1 squadron)

The squadrons were 150-200 strong. The Cavalry Division was only formed partially.

On 19 October 1815 the Reserve Army was disbanded.

Notes on Tindal:

  • This is the same Tindal that commanded the 3rd (Dutch) Grenadiers in Napoleon's Guard, and became General!
  • During the 1815 campaign Tindal was also acting Minister of War in the southern provinces of the Netherlands, and also present at the famous Richmond ball.


Bas, F. de. "Prins Frederik der Nederlanden en zijn Tijd" (Schiedam 1887-1913)

Raa, F.J.G. ten. "De uniformen van de Nederlandsche Zee- en Landmacht hier te lande en in de koloniën" ( Gravenhage 1900)