The Waterloo Association: Members Area

Get Involved:

Facebook Twitter Email
The Napoleon Series > Military Information > Organization, Strategy & Tactics

British & Hanoverian Contingents of the Allied Occupation Army in post- Waterloo France

By Ron McGuigan

In a General Order of 30th November, 1815, The Duke of Wellington formed these two contingents of the Allied Army of Occupation:

Commander-in-Chief: Field Marshal 1st Duke of Wellington

Quartermaster-General: Lt General Sir George Murray

Adjutant-General: Major General Sir Edward Barnes

Commander, Royal Artillery: Brevet Colonel Sir George Wood

Cavalry: Lt General Sir Stapleton Cotton, 1st Baron Combermere

  • 1st Cavalry Brigade: Major General Lord Edward Somerset
    • 1st Dragoon Guards
    • 2nd Dragoons Guards
    • 3rd Dragoons
  • 2nd Cavalry Brigade: Major General Sir Hussey Vivian
    • 7th Hussars
    • 12th Light Dragoons
    • 18th Hussars
  • 3rd Cavalry Brigade: Major General Sir Colquhoun Grant
    • 11th Light Dragoons
    • 13th Light Dragoons
    • 15th Hussars

Infantry: Lt General Sir Rowland Hill, 1st Baron Hill

  • 1st Division: Lt General Sir Galbraith Lowry Cole
    • 1st Brigade: Major General Sir Peregrine Maitland
      • 1st Foot Guards, 3rd Battalion
      • Coldstream Foot Guards, 2nd Battalion;
    • 7th Brigade: Major General Sir James Kempt
      • 7th Royal Fusiliers, 1st Bn.
      • 23rd Fusiliers
      • 43rd Light Infantry, 1st Bn.
    • 8th Brigade: Major General Sir John Lambert
      • 27th Foot, 1st Bn.
      • 40th Foot, 1st Bn.
      • 95th Rifles, 1st Bn.


  • 2nd Division: Lt Genral Sir Henry Clinton
    • 3rd Brigade: Major General Sir Robert O'Callaghan
      • 3rd Foot, 1st Bn.
      • 39th Foot, 1st Bn.
      • 91st Foot, 1st Bn.
    • 4th Brigade: Major General Sir Denis Pack
      • 4th Foot, 1st Bn.
      • 52nd Light Infantry, 1st Bn.
      • 79th Highlanders, 1st Bn.
    • 6th Brigade: Major General Sir Thomas Bradford
      • 6th Foot, 1st Bn.
      • 29th Foot
      • 71st Light Infantry, 1st Bn.


  • 3rd Division: Lt General Sir Charles Colville
    • 2nd Brigade: Major General Sir Manley Power
      • 1st Foot, 3rd Bn.
      • 57th Foot, 1st Bn.
      • 95th Rifles, 2nd Bn.
    • 5th Brigade: Major General Sir Thomas Brisbane
      • 5th Foot, 1st Bn.
      • 9th Foot, 1st Bn.
      • 21st Fusiliers, 1st Bn.
    • 9th Brigade: Major General Sir John Keane
      • 81st Foot, 1st Bn.
      • 88th Foot, 1st Bn.

Artillery and Engineers:

  • Royal Horse Artillery: G Troop; H Troop; I Troop
    • Foot Batteries
      • Carmichael
      • Gordon
      • Holcroft
      • Hunt
      • Hutchessons
      • Rogers
      • Unett
  • Royal Engineers and Royal Sappers and Miners: Lt Colonel John Burgoyne
    • 2nd Battalion: 4th Company; 5th Company; 8th Company
    • 3rd Battalion: 1st Company
    • 4th Battalion: 2nd Company


Hanoverian Contingent: Lt General Sir Karl, Graf von Alten

Chief-of-Staff: Major Andreas von Schlutter

Cavalry: Prince Regent's Hussars

Artillery: von Rettberg's Foot Battery

Infantry: Major General Sir James Lyon

  • 1st Brigade: Brevet Colonel Hugh Halkett
    • Field Battalions: Luneburg; Grubenhagen; 1st Duke of York
  • 2nd Brigade: Colonel August Berger
    • Field Battalions: Bremen; Verden; Calenberg


Connolly, T.W.J. History of the Royal Sappers & Miners 1837.

Duncan, F. History of the Royal Regiment of Artillery 1878.

Egerton, T. General Orders, Portugal, Spain & France Volume 7; 1815.

Porter, Whitworth History of the Corps of Royal Engineers 1889.

2nd Duke of Wellington. Supplementary Dispatches & Memoranda of Field Marshal the Duke of Wellington 1858-1872.